_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
CV-8 Hornet Paint Help!
Vulcan20
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 114 posts
Model Shipwrights: 56 posts
Posted: Wednesday, March 29, 2006 - 09:54 AM UTC
I'm new to ship model and I'm working on my first ship, Tamiya 1/700 CV-8 Hornet Doolittle Raid. Tamiya's instruction lists colors for Hornet as Dark Grey, Deck Colour, and Light Grey but no paint number. I don't know if they are generic color or reference to Tamiya paint. Tamiya paint lists XF-24 Dark Grey, XF-25 Light Sea Grey, XF-54 Dark Sea Grey, XF-55 Deck Tan, XF-66 Light Grey. What are the paint should I use? I'm mainly using Tamiya Acrylic, Testor Model Master Acrylic paint. It will be very much appreciated if anyone can help me link paint scheme to paint number/name, even if they're different brand paints. Thanks in advance.

Steven Lu
blaster76
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 8,985 posts
Model Shipwrights: 3,509 posts
Posted: Wednesday, March 29, 2006 - 12:55 PM UTC
Ship building is a lot of fun. The colors changed almost as uch as folks change their underwear :-)

The deck color was a blue stain over the wood. I mixed mine using a combination of testors model masters 1718 Sea blue with a light blue like 2078 hell blau. The dark gray pattern at the water level of the ship I would mix the sea blue with a dark gray. The lighter gray I would go with a medium gray.Tamiya dark sea gray would be a good color

Somebody makes a series of great naval colors in acrylics. I am sure someone will give you the names and numbers you should use. White ensign models has a series of great colors but they are difficult to find in the states and expensive for what you get ordering them from England. They are about half the quantity of a tamiya bottle and they are enamel. BUt if you are wanting absolute accuracy that' s what you go with.
skipper
Visit this Community