_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Carriers
Topics on all types of carriers from the early 20th century to today.
USS Enterprise CVN-65 WIP
AngryDog
Visit this Community
Singapore / 新加坡
KitMaker: 1,114 posts
Model Shipwrights: 60 posts
Posted: Saturday, March 29, 2008 - 06:24 AM UTC
Hi guys, this is my first time active on this part of the site.(usually on armorama) Just wanted to share my first vessel build, commissioned by a collector. Being an ex-Navyman, I was thrilled when I started this build...and coincidently I've always wanted to build THE ENTERPRISE!!!

With much hours on end scrutinizing the details and works of art of this ship by other modelers...I took the plunge ending last year and with Mk 2 Eyeballs---started all measurements and markings with pencil on paper and on the ship's hull...
I've completed most of the scratch built hanger bay, to be lit with white & red leds thru the hundreds of cut outs on the ceiling- simulating lighting areas approximately 294 square cut-outs!! On the reverse side of the ceiling, sheets of styrene frame work was added for strength thus dividing the 294 lighting cut-outs into 47 sections which each will receive a clear sheet of styrene in order to diffuse the intensity of the leds.
Most of the ongoing detailing is based on the book The USS ENTERPRISE in detail & scale.
As the photos show,I've opened up all elevator openings to the hangerbay, including Elevator No.1.
There's 20% scratch building left to be done-mostly on the exterior of the ship.
I've also prepared most of the carrier's photoetch set from Gold medal Models, including their photoetch elevators set....and many fire hose reels which I'm dreading the monotony..
The Island will be lit subtly and I'm hoping to light the Fresnel Lens Optical Landing System and stern landing light locations with fibre optics.
The ship will also house Eduard's pre-colored photoetch figures.