_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Cruisers
Topics covering cruisers both past and present.
Hobby Boss 1/350 USS Alaska
sdk10159
Visit this Community
Oregon, United States
KitMaker: 556 posts
Model Shipwrights: 110 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 07, 2018 - 01:05 PM UTC
Good evening all,
I have been fascinated with cruisers and destroyers for a long time and my particular favorites have been the USN’s heavy cruisers and especially the Baltimore class. I knew about the aborted Lexington class of battlecruisers but always thought the class died with them. Then in 2002, from a book about WWII cruisers, I found out about the Alaska class of “Large” cruisers developed to counter the IJN’s battlecruisers. I never heard of them before. I have been fascinated with them ever since. Imagine my surprise when I found out that HobbyBoss marketed a kit of them! I had to get one.

I’m primarily an armor modeler, but have always loved ship models and cut my modeling teeth on them in the 60’s. I watch this site often, marveling at the detail in so small a scale. You guys do wonderful work.

So, here I am, back to my roots with the USS Alaska in 1/350. I’ll also be using the Master Models USS Alaska/Guam armament set.

And here is the start. The hull is one piece and required minimal clean up on the mold seams. The main deck is two pieces.

I haven’t done the shafts, screws or rudder as yet, as I’ll probably break them off while handling the hull. I’ll save them for just before I paint the hull.
d6mst0
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 1,925 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,298 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 07, 2018 - 04:30 PM UTC
Steve,

I been preparing to start my own build of the Alaska so I will be following your posts to see how you are progressing.