_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
a good ship to start with ?
Easy_Co
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,933 posts
Model Shipwrights: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, March 31, 2005 - 10:36 AM UTC
Hi guys new in this forum and I need some advice, I wanted to build a battleship in the dreadnaughts campaign but im a total novice with ships, could some one reccomend a decent kit to start on nothing to difficult .Im leaning towards the U.S. or Germany .Thanks for any help
blaster76
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 8,985 posts
Model Shipwrights: 3,509 posts
Posted: Thursday, March 31, 2005 - 12:02 PM UTC
Ship models are easy mate.The key question is how much do you want to spend buying one and do you want to dress it up with Photo etched. Personally, I love the large 3 foot long 1/350 scale ships. Tamiya makes the best Battleships. I think if you go to ebay and bid, you can get one for mid 30's (retailers and discounters go for mid $40 to mid $50). These are all easy straight forward builds and look really good. I think y0u've played with PE before, and generally the PE here is easy to bend and shape and you can go whole hog with a White Ensign Models or get a nice set from Tom's MOdelworks for about half of that. There are several companies that make excellent 1/700 or 1/720 scale ships. Tamiya, Hasgawa, even Dragon and Trumpeter. There is also PE available for them. I haven't built a 1/700 scale ship in 15 years so I.never have used PE on any of the them. I've seen some of these kits go for under $20 to over $50.
95bravo
Visit this Community
Kansas, United States
KitMaker: 2,242 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,064 posts
Posted: Thursday, March 31, 2005 - 12:59 PM UTC
Welcome to the" Dark Side" John