_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
The Order in Which You Paint.
95bravo
Visit this Community
Kansas, United States
KitMaker: 2,242 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,064 posts
Posted: Friday, April 08, 2005 - 08:23 AM UTC

Ok, so I'm a Nervous Nelly, but the Dreadnaught Campaign is approaching and we all know I'm a newbie when it comes to this naval stuff. I'm a bit worried about the painting aspect of these ships. Unlike the subs where I could, with some ease spray multiple colors. Yet, with the battleships, I have all those deck fittings to worry about. I guess what I'm asking is this:

1) Do you apply youir colors to the hull and superstructures first?
2) then mask off and apply the deck colors?
3) After the deck colors are applied, then do you go back through a hand paint the fittings?

I know this sounds....really amatuerish, but I wanted to run this by the "old hands" and see if this was a somwhat viable procedure.
skipper
Visit this Community
Lisboa, Portugal
KitMaker: 5,182 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,070 posts
Posted: Friday, April 08, 2005 - 12:38 PM UTC
Ahoy Steve

It's a fair question, here's my input:
Consider the hull and the main deck as one sub-assembly and treat it like that (build and paint):
Then all the other parts (guns, superstructures, uppers decks, catapults etc) also consider them severall sub-assemblyes that in the end will go together and then apply the necessary "paint touch here and there"
Finnaly raillings, previously painted will be applyed.

This is my way, but as you can read from the Mike Taylor (modelguy2) review on the Tamiya and WEM PE Set for the Bismark - he built everything and painted in the end . but then, he is a pro!!!!

Are you listening Mike? Can you give a little light in this issue?

Skipper
Tiger101
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 902 posts
Model Shipwrights: 105 posts
Posted: Friday, April 08, 2005 - 12:48 PM UTC