_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
"flattops" campaign entry
spacejunkie
Visit this Community
Utah, United States
KitMaker: 29 posts
Model Shipwrights: 8 posts
Posted: Monday, January 09, 2006 - 06:49 AM UTC
This is my first time posting photos so I hope they come out. I'll try posting them to the campaign page. My first campaign will be the Flattops campaign and my entry is the 1/720 Italeri/Dragon USS NASSAU LHA-4. You can build the kit either full hull or waterline. I will be doing the waterline thing. (Ships just belong in the water!)

So far I have started the island and put the hull halves together with part of the well deck. The fit so far has been hit and miss. The hull halves were warped and do not go together easily. Dragon should have put some bulkheads in there to make glueing easier and to give some rigidity. My main complaint with the hull would have to be the gaps at the bow. There is a seperate piece that goes along the top edge the bow that will mount to the front edge of the flight deck. This piece is supposed to meet up with the exterior bulkheads that are behind the front 5" mounts. Instead, there is about an 1/8" gap on both sides that will need to be filled.

The island is going together pretty good allthough there are a couple of gaps that will need to be addressed. Especially on the starboard side roof of the auxillary hanger under the bridge.

I just got the Flagship models Photoetch set for this class and it will really dress the ship up. However, this is my first foray into the world of photo-etch.

skipper
Visit this Community
Lisboa, Portugal
KitMaker: 5,182 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,070 posts
Posted: Monday, January 09, 2006 - 05:53 PM UTC
Hi Bill

First of all - Welcome to Warship and to Armorama