_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Military Small Craft
For topics on PT boats, landing craft, Vietnam riverine, etc.
Elco PT boat questions
niart17
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 76 posts
Model Shipwrights: 52 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 03:00 AM UTC
Hey all, this is my first post here so please be patient, i'm not sure what has and has not been discussed before.

Anyway, I'm building the Italeri 1/35 scale Pt boat and trying to detail out the interior a little bit since some is visible through open hatches. On the engine cover, right behind the main vent, there is a structure with what looks like a canvas cover, does anyone have any idea what that is and what is below the cover? also, would it be common for it to be opened? I'm sure there will be many more annoying questions to come, so please bear with me.

Thanks and I look forward to talking shop with you guys, even though I'm a wing-thing builder mostly.

Bill
grayghost666
KitMaker: 2,458 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,423 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 07:38 AM UTC
hello Bill,
the best place to find out about PT Boats is a website called: ptboatworld.com.there is a guy over there,Garth,that is an expert on all things pt boats and all the kits that are out there.
cheers,
Bruce
niart17
Visit this Community
United States
Posted: Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 07:58 AM UTC
thanks bruce, i'll have to check it out. i hope to have pics to post whenever i get far enough to show any progress.

Bill
Visit this Community
Louisiana, United States
KitMaker: 5,422 posts
Model Shipwrights: 5,079 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 08:24 AM UTC
Hey Bill,

Make sure you check back here from time to time. Dr. Al Ross and Garth Connolly both pop up here when there is a PT boat question. They are both very knowledgeable on the PT.

Kenny
TracyWhite
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 527 posts
Model Shipwrights: 464 posts