_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
My first Ship model- 1/350 Nagato with extras
drizzt73
Visit this Community
New South Wales, Australia
KitMaker: 158 posts
Model Shipwrights: 50 posts
Posted: Thursday, September 24, 2009 - 05:05 PM UTC
And so it begins.... Hello all, I am new to ship modelling but have done some 1/48 planes and 1/35 armour (WW2) over the past 2-3 years after getting back into modelling.

I bought the Hasegawa Nagato kit back in Mar/April and have been a bit daunted at the thought of tackling this kit but itching to do it at the same time. I have slowly been aquiring some aftermarket bits and pieces and want to build it carefully as this will end up being a centrepiece in my loungeroom (hopefully I can do it justice). Now that I have cleared my workbench and am commited to the build I have ordered some more "stuff" over the past 3 days- this is probably an appropriate time to thank my lovely wife for putting up with my hobby and letting me spend the money!!!!!

Ok a quick shot of the kit

and a shot of what I have so far

This includes-
The kit
Hasegawa PE set A
Hasegawa PE set B
Hasegawa Super Set
WEM IJN Cable Reels
Veteran Models 12.7cm AA guns
Veteran models IJN binocular set with voice pipes
AJ press Nagato/Mutsu Vol 2 ( I would love vol 1 but it is unavailable worldwide as far as I know)
I have also ordered-
G factor Nagato brass propellers
Sinsengumi Models Nagato wood deck
Clipper 14cm brass barrels
I am thinking about getting the WEM Nagato PE set- it has ladders which I need and a few pieces that are not in the Hase sets. Its approx $130Au so i'm not sure on this one yet- any thoughts appreciated.
All up I have spent approx $750- $800Au to date :big_eyes: