_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Vosper MTB build
TAFFY3
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 2,531 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,244 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 09, 2012 - 02:35 AM UTC
This is my first attempt at a Blog. It is going to be a sloooow build due to my approach to doing it. The Italeri kit is very good, but leaves a lot of room for additional detail. Particularly in the wheelhouse, and inside the gun turret. Additional armament can also be added. The model is MTB 77, which was later up-gunned with a captured Italian 20mm Breda cannon. Different combinations of 20mm Oerlikon guns, and .303 Vickers and Lewis MG's were also mounted on other boats.

I don't always follow the recommended order of assembly during a build. The first thing I did was complete the hull by adding the stern plate and rub rail. The rub rail required some putty to blend it in. I've found that with all of the Italeri boats in this series, the fit of parts is excellent and very little putty work is required.

The stern plate fitted:

The rudders and props were also added. I replaced the prop shafts with brass rod for strength.

A view of the boat with some assemblies temporarily in place:

The instructions would have you add the wheelhouse top, back, and sides separately to the deck. I assembled mine as a complete unit to be added later.

The completed wheelhouse:

I also included some extra detail in the wheelhouse:

The wheelhouse top and sides fit together well the only visible seam will be hidden by the spray shield around the top. Due to AMS I will probably putty it anyway. Al
TAFFY3
Visit this Community
New York, United States
Posted: Thursday, February 09, 2012 - 02:53 AM UTC